New Sherwood

“Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life.”

Lent is a time when many souls are attacked with temptations against faith – the worst and most agonizing of all temptations. In the midst of the crisis presently engulfing the Church, I would imagine that such temptations will test even the best of Catholics. Perhaps especially the best of Catholics. St. Francis de Sales, who often suffered these temptations, advises:

not to fight against this temptation by contrary acts of the understanding, but by those of the will, darting forth a thousand protestations of fidelity to the truths which God reveals to us by His Church. These acts of Faith, supernatural as they are, soon reduce to ashes all the engines and machinations of the enemy.

For my part, one of the most powerful and consoling things to do is to think of the saints. The miracles of the saints could only be of divine origin. The kind of supernatural charity that confounds the world is found only in the saints of the Catholic Church. Where else can be found the likes of a St. Maria Goretti? Or, for that matter, her forgiving mother? Not to mention her murderer, who repented with great humility, did a lifetime of penance, and even attended his victim’s canonization ceremony? Such marvels are only imaginable as a Catholic Christian. But we don’t have to imagine them: they are real and tangible proofs of the truth of our holy religion. Dear fellow sinners, let this letter of the aged Alessandro Serenelli revive your spirit:

“I’m nearly 80 years old. I’m about to depart.

“Looking back at my past, I can see that in my early youth, I chose a bad path which led me to ruin myself.

“My behavior was influenced by print, mass-media and bad examples which are followed by the majority of young people without even thinking. And I did the same. I was not worried.

“There were a lot of generous and devoted people who surrounded me, but I paid no attention to them because a violent force blinded me and pushed me toward a wrong way of life.

“When I was 20 years-old, I committed a crime of passion. Now, that memory represents something horrible for me. Maria Goretti, now a Saint, was my good Angel, sent to me through Providence to guide and save me. I still have impressed upon my heart her words of rebuke and of pardon. She prayed for me, she interceded for her murderer. Thirty years of prison followed.

“If I had been of age, I would have spent all my life in prison. I accepted to be condemned because it was my own fault.

“Little Maria was really my light, my protectress; with her help, I behaved well during the 27 years of prison and tried to live honestly when I was again accepted among the members of society. The Brothers of St. Francis, Capuchins from Marche, welcomed me with angelic charity into their monastery as a brother, not as a servant. I’ve been living with their community for 24 years, and now I am serenely waiting to witness the vision of God, to hug my loved ones again, and to be next to my Guardian Angel and her dear mother, Assunta.

“I hope this letter that I wrote can teach others the happy lesson of avoiding evil and of always following the right path, like little children. I feel that religion with its precepts is not something we can live without, but rather it is the real comfort, the real strength in life and the only safe way in every circumstance, even the most painful ones of life.”

Signature, Alessandro Serenelli

March 10, 2014 - Posted by | Catholic Faith

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you, Jeff. You have no idea how helpful this is. I spent a very long time in the confessional on Saturday struggling with exactly these kinds of temptations, a direct result of the chaos into which the Church has been thrown over the past year. It is excellent to be reminded that Lent is a time of special attacks, and that some of our greatest saints experienced similar torments.

    “Contrary acts of understanding” describes exactly my instinctive approach to these difficulties: to attempt to defeat them by acts of the intellect. The intellectual approach can be fruitful when the attacks are coming from without the Church, and when she is governed by a steady hand. But when the attacks are coming from within, from the highest levels of the hierarchy, and are directed at what had been thought to be her most solid and imperturbable underpinnings, the intellect becomes mired in confusion and doubt.

    God bless.

    Like

    Comment by Murray | March 10, 2014 | Reply

  2. Murray, thank you for this encouraging comment. You’re right about the limitations of the “intellectual approach” in this kind of a crisis. Something compelled me to post this rather furiously last night, for my own benefit as much as for others. God keep you!

    Liked by 2 people

    Comment by Blogmaster | March 11, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

