New Sherwood

Celebrating June

I’m sure that you have noticed. Bereft of the Catholic Faith, the modern world has instituted its own rites, liturgies, celebrations and feasts to fill the void. If we Catholics took our own calendar seriously with all of its feasts and fasts, vigils and octaves, ember days and rogation days, First Fridays and Saturdays, etc., we would have no time for the secular “feasts” the world wants to impose.

The month of June is no different. We can celebrate June in one of two ways: that which is established by Christ’s Church, or that which has been established by … President Barack Obama.

O most Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us!

May 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Wow – a magnificent contrast. Well done! It’s as if they have a rival religion of political power with the chief executive as their Pope. Reading through his proclamation, a person might begin wonder whether it’s immoral to participate in their scheme of government.

    Like

    Comment by Bill White | May 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. Reading through his proclamation, a person might begin wonder whether it’s immoral to participate in their scheme of government.

    That’s one thought I wish I could get out of my head.

    Like

    Comment by Blogmaster | May 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. Impressive list of secular high holy days and commemorations:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_commemorative_days

    From Earth Day to Irritable Bowel Syndome (IBS) Awareness Month.

    Thanks, Bill!

    Like

    Comment by Blogmaster | May 30, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m gonna be ill. (About Barack Obama’s proclamation. I believe it was read last year by an activist during our fight over the local gay rights ordinance.)

    As far as not participating in their civic religion, I’m hearing Zippy-echoes here. :-)

    By the way, happy Trinity Sunday.

    Now I’ve gotta go see if you’ve been posting here at Stony Creek Digest while I thought it was in hiatus.

    Like

    Comment by Lydia | May 31, 2010 | Reply

  5. Happy Trinity Sunday, Lydia! Thanks for commenting. The blog is only in hiatus because I don’t have much to say that hasn’t already been said.

    About participating in the “civic religion” of modernity, I do what I can without pinching incense to idols or paying homage to sin and perversion. We’ll pray for our fallen soldiers tomorrow. I’m going to be manning the frog-jumping contest for Orland’s annual Fourth of July Celebration. I don’t know how successful I am at this balancing act and might someday give it up altogether. In the meantime, every year that goes by I scale it back another notch …

    Like

    Comment by Blogmaster | May 31, 2010 | Reply

  6. I just came across your blog fairly recently, and what a blessing it has been for me! I just wanted to leave a brief comment with a note of thanks for the blog entries you have posted with perspectives faithful to traditional Catholicism that I have found here. May God bless you and your family.

    Like

    Comment by Miss Linda | June 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Thank you, Miss Linda!

    Like

    Comment by Blogmaster | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  8. I like with this blog. May be you all have question, is islam really terrorist religion. Visit my blog : http://www.islam-waylife.blogspot.com.

    Like

    Comment by sena | October 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

