New Sherwood

Thursday afternoon

Great news from St. John the Baptist Catholic Church in Chico! Beginning in February, the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite will be celebrated at 10:30am every Sunday. Until now the Latin Mass has been held at 2:30pm, a highly inconvenient time for many, ensuring that only a few of us hardcore traditionalists would normally attend. The new morning Mass time is an important milestone for several reasons: 1) other Catholics will find it much easier to attend; 2) our community will feel less marginalized; 3) the culture of the Latin Mass will more easily influence the life of the parish; and 4) God willing, with an increase in attendance, we should be able to celebrate a missa cantata more frequently.

*******

Yesterday, I was looking up a business contact on a search engine. The only link that turned up was a “Facebook” site. So, naturally, I clicked on the link and tried to view the page. But in order to view this page I had to register with Facebook. I followed all the promptings, answered the questions, and in a few minutes, as it turned out, I had set up a Facebook page of my own. Somehow Facebook must be integrated with Google. Facebook appears to have gone through my e-mail box and found everyone I have ever corresponded with who has a Facebook site. In the registration process I think I was asked if these people were my “friends”, and of course I answered “yes”.  As it turns out, these poor souls were automatically sent an e-mail in which I asked to become one of their Facebook “friends”. And of course, friends being what they are, many graciously added me to their list of “friends”. As of this writing I have received 53 e-mails from Facebook since 4:17pm yesterday afternoon. Mary-Eileen of Tea at Trianon, ever the perfect hostess, was the first to welcome me. After that, the avalanche. Have you ever discovered that all of your friends threw a party but no one invited you? I had no idea this Facebook party was going on. The entire Catholic blogosphere is evidently on Facebook. Wow! I always thought Facebook was just for teens and rock musicans, like MySpace or something. But, no hard feelings, OK? Although I’m beginning to get the hang of it, I doubt I’ll be able to keep up with it.

*******

The national debt is now just under $11 trillion. The inaugural festivities on January 20 are predicted to cost around $50 million, the most expensive inauguration ever – a combination of $15 million in federal money and some $35 million in private sources. If I understand the news correctly, this does not include the estimated cost of $75 million to the city of Washington, D.C. and $12 million to the state of Maryland, to pay for security and public services. I do realize that $100 million is just another tiny drop in the $11 trillion bucket, but this is sheer recklessness. Every day the news is more grim. Today, we learn that Gottschalks just filed for bankruptcy – another casualty in the retail bloodbath of 2008-2009. The state of California is shutting down two days per month. Etc., etc. – I don’t need to rehash the news for you. It seems to me that if a president were really serious about getting us out of this mess, he wouldn’t be tossing around casual millions like so much confetti.

*******

Here in Glenn County, a 17 year old mother has been charged with willful cruelty to a child – her unborn child. The mother was found to be using methamphetamine in the last stages of her pregnancy. Thank God our local officials still have the courage to call an unborn child an unborn child, and to prosecute when it’s rights are violated. Next, I want to see charges filed against the abortion mills in Chico.

*******

Feminism and the sexual revolution continue to devastate lives and corrupt the culture: sexually transmitted disease rates are soaring. Unsurprisingly, the experts are clueless and recommend the promiscuity-inducing use of condoms as a solution. Also unsurprisingly, homosexual behavior accounts directly for 65% of new syphillis cases in the last eight years.

January 16, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. I take it that this means you do not want me to send you a FB “friend” request? :-) It is a little overwhelming. If you start putting up pictures that you don’t want everybody in the world to see, be sure your access settings are set up so that “only friends” can see your FB photos. Even then, if you “tag” members of your family in the photos and they have separate FB accounts (for example if your wife has a separate FB account), all of her “friends” will be able to see the picture, because it is a picture of their “friend.” All rather daunting. And if you get something, anything, that looks weird ostensibly from a FB friend, such as an invitation to watch a video or a statement that you should “check out” some web site you’ve never heard of, _do not_ click on it, as it may mean that his account has been hacked and is sending out a phishing or virus message. Be sure to make your password long, as hackers evidently are very busy tackling FB accounts.

    Now that I’ve scared you, I’ll say that I like FB. So far I’ve seen only two ads I really didn’t like.

    Like

    Comment by Lydia | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Facebook is fun. BTW, there are also privacy settings if you end up with hundreds of “friends” and may not want every single person to see your family photos.

    Now, we have to get you on Twitter……..;-)

    Like

    Comment by elena maria vidal | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh, so that’s why I got the friend request. : ) (If you don’t want emails from facebook you can change your settings on facebook so that you don’t receive them.)

    Like

    Comment by Rebecca | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the warnings and the info. And please do send your “friend” requests. Most everyone who comments here would have received one eventually!

    I’m afraid to ask what a “twitter” is …

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hey, you didn’t add me! LOL

    I really enjoy Facebook- it’s a wonderful way to spy on your teenagers!
    Mary

    Like

    Comment by Mary | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. Twitter is something I honestly thought was pointless, and so resisted using for it’s first year or so. It’s essentially for micro-blogging – if you can make an observation in 140 characters or less, that is a “tweet”.

    Twitter integrates nicely with your facebook status. Some people have really refined it to an art, and I like it because it’s really succinct and to the point, and I can update it from my phone. (Some American student who got arrested for photographing a protest in Egypt used it to notify his social network before they took his phone, and his university’s lawyers came to his rescue.)

    Also, you’re not including our social welfare obligation in our national debt. When you factor that in, the number goes up to about $64 trillion, 53 of which is social security and medicare, etc.

    Like

    Comment by Steve Skojec | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  7. Mary: Check your FB mail!

    Steve: Good point about the social welfare obligations. I should have remembered that from David Walker’s interviews. As for twitter, I may stumble into it someday, but I’m not going looking for it! Besides, phones are for talking – no more, no less. :-)

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. I should clarify that the new Mass time at St. John’s starts in February. The entry has been edited accordingly.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | January 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

