New Sherwood

Kilkelly

July 3, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I was only able to make it through about one and a half of the videos so far…maybe more later. That is perhaps the saddest song I know: long, grueling, every small bit of joy mingled with huge amounts of sorrow.

    My great grandparents came to America from Co. Mayo in the 1920’s. She was from Newport, Co. Mayo, which is on the coast near Achill Island. He was from Ballyhaunis, which is very near Knock (where he was baptized) and Kilkelly. My grandpa’s first cousin lives in Kilkelly today, I stayed there many times while I was studying in Galway. It’s nowhere near the ocean, but those sweeping ocean scenes in the first video are dramatic.

    My cousin’s husband died last year: they had a small cattle farm there between Kilkelly and Knock Airport. Several of their children live in houses on their land. Its not the most exciting or even intersting town in Ireland (frequently when I said I was going there people asked me, shocked “why there?”) but it is beautiful in a special, very real and Catholic, kind of way. I pray for Ireland and especially for Co. Mayo every day, and I would ask anyone else who would like to do so as well.

    Our Lady of Knock, pray for us!

    Like

    Comment by Daniel A. | July 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. Daniel, thanks for sharing this. Interesting that the Irish emigration was still going strong in the 1920s. I hope you’ll keep alive those family ties to the old country.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | July 6, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m not Irish, but I’ve enjoyed the their music and sung their songs since I was a boy. I’ve known this song for a long time now. It’s references like this which go outside of politics and strike at the heart cords which make some bloggers remain on my favorites list. God bless you and may we not lose heart in hard times. I posted one of the songs on our family blog with the short caption: “It will all end soon, let us love while we may.” Our dear Benedict is slowly and in his sweet way teaching us the need for both faith and reason in equal measure, and for me this means a retention of all our deepest sentiments but also the need for a clear head. Bernanos,Balthasar and Peguy: Pray for us

    Like

    Comment by Cyrus Brewster | July 6, 2008 | Reply

  4. Mr. Brewster: That’s quite a compliment, sir. Thank you for reading and commenting. And I agree with you about Benedict’s teaching on faith and reason. The beauty of songs like Kilkelly – so characteristic of the Irish, as I have noted before – is the deep sentiment and emotion right alongside hard-headed realism. “Remember her in your prayers” – ever the father, helping his son to stay focused, no matter the depth of his own sorrow.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | July 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

