New Sherwood

New home videos!

My wife won’t admit it, but she’s a techno-geek. Last week she figured out how to upload home videos on YouTube and has been having a lot of fun with it. For your amusement …

This is a talkative Anne Josephine at age seven months:

This is me and a friend performing “Michael Row Your Boat Ashore” on a Sunday afternoon:

Here’s Christopher, Jonathan and Amy playing a waltz in the living room:

I know, there went seven minutes of your life that you’ll never get back. Sorry about that – but you should have known better!

June 10, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. Videos give so much more than still pictures! I liked the last one the best; about midway it looked like the eldest looked sharply at the youngest, as if he (the youngest) had made a mistake. Watching that, I wish I’d learned to play the violin.

    Like

    Comment by TSO | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. The first and third videos were wonderful! The best thing about the second one was that it was not part of a mass.

    Like

    Comment by The Western Confucian | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Videos do something still photos cannot – they bring you to life, giving movement and voice; sharing what makes each of you a unique creation.. Very nice.

    I must admit that while your children were playing, I was admiring your bookshelf. :)

    Like

    Comment by annabenedetti | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thank you for the comments, everyone. These will make my wife happy. I am, however, disappointed that the second video did not receive a single compliment, unless you count TWC’s backhanded “at least it wasn’t part of a mass”. An oversight, perhaps? It’s hard not to take this personally.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  5. An oversight. Of course. My deepest apologies. :)

    I was just so overwhelmed at hearing Michael Row Your Boat Ashore that I forgot to comment. Haven’t heard that since my excruciating 7th. grade parochial school Masses. Please don’t sing “We are one in the Spirit, we are one in the Lord…..”

    Like

    Comment by annabenedetti | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  6. “An oversight. Of course. My deepest apologies. :)”

    Apology accepted, Annabenedetti. I do understand. One is often at a loss for words when in the presence of great works of art.

    “Please don’t sing ‘We are one in the Spirit, we are one in the Lord…..'”

    Oh, you mean “They’ll Know We Are Christians by Our Love”! That was the recessional hymn at our wedding. Maybe we’ll put that on YouTube for you. :-)

    Anyway you have to admit it’s a notch better than “Lord of the Dance”, which is so gay I won’t even attempt a parody.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  7. “They’ll Know We Are Christians by Our Love”

    That’s the one! Argghh! I did hear that again once, many, many years later, and even that monstrosity had undergone a gender correction.

    They had changed (I had to look up these lyrics just now on Google)

    “And we’ll guard each man’s dignity
    And save each man’s pride”

    by switching out “man’s” for “one’s”. Ha!

    “which is so gay I won’t even attempt a parody.”

    For which I will forever be deeply, deeply grateful…

    Like

    Comment by annabenedetti | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  8. Which one is you in the second video? The singer or the guitarist?

    I enjoyed the waltz with the kids! Haven’t had time to watch the one of the baby yet.

    You won’t believe this. (Here goes: I’m ruining forever your opinion of my taste in music.) I have a CD called “Prayer and Plainsong” by Cynthia Clawson. It’s all a capella. She has these two guys who sing Latin Gregorian chant arranged to go with various hymns and songs that she sings over top. They made it (they say) at some old mission building out in the Southwest. _Anyway_, one of the pieces is (get ready for it) her singing “Kumbaya” while they sing the Kyrie. And in my opinion it _works_. I _don’t_ like the various “radio mixes” they tack on to the end of the CD where they add various types of synth music along with it. But the a capella version is really awfully good. They also have “Savior Like a Shepherd” arranged to go with the Agnus Dei and, as one might have predicted, the Sanctus with the hymn “Holy, Holy, Holy.”

    Like

    Comment by Lydia | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  9. “Which one is you in the second video? The singer or the guitarist?”

    Well, I prefer to think of myself as the “lead vocalist”.

    “I enjoyed the waltz with the kids! Haven’t had time to watch the one of the baby yet.”

    Thanks for indulging me!

    “You won’t believe this. (Here goes: I’m ruining forever your opinion of my taste in music.) … _Anyway_, one of the pieces is (get ready for it) her singing ‘Kumbaya’ while they sing the Kyrie. And in my opinion it _works_.”

    Oh, dear Lydia, that stretches my famously open mind just a little too wide. For entertainment purposes, I’ll grant you liberty of taste and opinion – as the lead vocalist in the video above I could do no less – but never in anything that even approximates the liturgy!

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  10. Well, Jeff, I guess ya’d just have to hear it. :-)

    Like

    Comment by Lydia | June 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

