New Sherwood

Morning and evening prayer – Form Four (evening)

EVENING PRAYER – FORM FOUR

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

OUR FATHER

HAIL MARY

GLORY BE

I BELIEVE

O my heavenly Father, I thank Thee for Thy love in creating me; and for taking care of me all through my life, and especially during this day. Blessed be Thy holy name forever.

O Holy Spirit, give me light to see all the sins that I have committed this day, and grant me grace to be truly sorry for them.

(Examination of conscience: See page XX.)

I confess to Almighty God, to blessed Mary ever Virgin, to blessed Michael the Archangel, to blessed John the Baptist, to the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, and to all the saints, that I have sinned exceedingly in thought, word, and deed, through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault. Therefore, I beseech blessed Mary ever Virgin, blessed Michael the Archangel, blessed John the Baptist, the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, and all the saints, to pray to the Lord our God for me.

May Almighty God have mercy on me, forgive me my sins, and bring me to life everlasting. Amen.

May the almighty and merciful Lord grant me pardon ( + ), absolution, and remission of all my sins.

O my God, I am very sorry for having sinned against Thee, and by Thy help I will not sin again.

Bless, O Lord, all mankind and bring them to a knowledge and love of the Catholic Faith. Bless Thy Holy Church throughout all the world, and gather all men into the true fold. Bless all who are near and dear to me, and those who oppose me. Succor the poor and needy, the sick and afflicted, and all who are at the point of death. Have mercy on the souls of the faithful departed, and grant them an increase of refreshment, light, and peace. Through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

May the Blessed Virgin Mary, St. Joseph, and all the Saints, pray for us to our Lord, that we may be defended this night from all evil. Amen.

O my good Angel, whom God hath appointed to be my guardian, keep watch over me this night.

All ye angels and saints of God, pray for me.

Into Thy hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit this night and forever more.

O Lord, support us all the day long of this troublous life, until the shades lengthen, and the evening comes, and the busy world is hushed, and the fever of life is over, and our work is done. Then, Lord, in Thy mercy, grant us a safe lodging, holy rest, and peace at the last, through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

( + ) Save us, O Lord, while waking and guard us while sleeping; that awake we may be with Christ, and in peace take our rest. Amen.

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

