New Sherwood

Morning and evening prayer – Form Five (evening)

EVENING PRAYER – FORM FIVE

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

OUR FATHER

HAIL MARY

I BELIEVE

(Examination of conscience: See page XX.)

O my God, I am very sorry that I have offended Thee, who art so good. Forgive me for Jesus’ sake, and I will try to sin no more.

My God, I thank Thee for all the blessings Thou hast sent me this day, and through my whole life.

O my God, I love Thee, and I want to love Thee more.

O dear God, I believe in Thee, and I hope in Thee for the pardon of my sins, for the help of thy grace, and for everlasting life, because of Thy love, Thy promises and Thy power.

Remember, gracious God, for good (by name) all my relations, benefactors, and friends. Give Thy grace and heavenly benediction to (by name) the clergy of my parish, the bishop of my diocese, and to the Vicar of Christ. Hear me, good Lord, who commend unto Thy tender mercy all those who labor under trials and afflictions (especially …). Have mercy upon this household, and grant that humility and meekness, peace and charity, chastity and purity may rule therein. Grant that we may so correct and amend ourselves that we may love, and fear, and serve Thee faithfully all our days. Through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

Visit, we beseech Thee, O Lord, this habitation: drive far from it all snares of the enemy; let Thy holy angels dwell herein to preserve us in peace, and let Thy blessing be ever upon us. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

Lighten our darkness, we beseech Thee, O Lord; and by Thy great mercy defend us from all perils and dangers of this night, for the love of Thy only Son, our Savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

I will lay me down in peace and take my rest. For it is Thou, Lord, only, that makest me dwell in safety.

( + ) Into Thy hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit, for Thou hast redeemed me O Lord, Thou God of truth.

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

