New Sherwood

Morning and evening prayer – Form Three (morning)

MORNING PRAYER – FORM THREE

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

O great and holy God, Lord of heaven and earth! In profound humility I prostrate myself before thee at the beginning of this day. With all the angels and saints I adore thee. Thou art my Creator; my Lord; my first beginning and my last end. To thee I render the homage of my being and my life. I submit myself entirely to thy holy will and service.

I believe in thee, O my God, because thou art infinitely true.

I hope in thee, O my God, because thou art infinitely merciful.

I love thee, O my God, because thou art most deserving of all my love.

I praise thee and give thee thanks for the numberless blessings thou hast bestowed upon me. I thank thee, O heavenly Father, for having created me to thy own image and likeness. I thank thee, O God the Son, for having redeemed me by thy death on the cross. I thank thee, O Holy Ghost, for having cleansed and sanctified me in holy baptism and called me to the true Faith. I thank thee, O most bountiful God, for all the innumerable graces thou hast given me, and especially for having preserved me this night.

I consecrate this day entirely to thy honor and glory, O Almighty God. I offer to thee all my thoughts, words, and actions together with all the crosses I may meet with in the course of this day. I intend to do all in union with the Sacred Heart of Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament.

Grant, O sweet heart of Jesus, that I may love thee more and more in all things.

O Jesus, give me the grace this day to follow thy holy example; to be humble, obedient, patient, charitable, and chaste. Incline my heart to keep thy commandments. I am resolved to watch over myself with the greatest care. I will especially take care not to relapse this day into my accustomed failings, but to struggle against them.

Holy Mary, my Queen, I commend my body and soul to thee. In thee I place all my hopes and confidence; my consolations, my trials and afflictions; my life and my death. O mother of grace and mercy, obtain for me the grace of fulfilling in all actions the will of thy divine Son.

Sweet heart of Mary, be my salvation.

St. Joseph, and all ye my holy patrons, pray for me.

Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom his love commits me here; ever this day be at my side, to light and guard, to rule and guide. Amen.

Sweet Jesus, have pity on all poor sinners, and save them from hell. Have mercy on the souls in purgatory. Bless all those for whom I am bound to pray.

OUR FATHER

HAIL MARY

I BELIEVE

O my God, I firmly believe all the sacred truths which thy Holy Catholic Church believes and teaches, because thou hast revealed them, who canst neither deceive nor be deceived.

O my God, relying on thy infinite goodness and promises, I hope to obtain the pardon of my sins, the assistance of thy grace, and life everlasting, through the merits of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.

O my God, I love thee above all things, with my whole heart and soul, because thou art infinitely worthy and deserving of all my love. I love also my neighbor as myself for the love of thee. I forgive all who have injured me, and ask pardon of all whom I have injured.

O my God, I am heartily sorry for my sins, because by them I have offended thee; and by the help of thy grace I firmly purpose never more to offend thee, but to do all I can to avoid sin and the occasion of it.

My God and my Lord, all for thy honor!

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

January 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

