New Sherwood

Morning and evening prayer – Form Three (evening)

EVENING PRAYER – FORM THREE

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

A day is passed again, never to return. In all humility I adore thee, O my Lord, at the end of this day. As I have commenced it in thy name, so I will end it in thy name.

I kneel down in spirit before the Blessed Sacrament to humbly thank thee, O my God, for all the graces and benefits which thou hast bestowed upon me this day. Thou hast graciously preserved me from a sudden and ill death; from countless dangers of soul and body; and hast given me all that was necessary for my spiritual and bodily life. Praised be thou, O Lord, for thy goodness and mercy.

Alas, how ungrateful I have been! Instead of serving my God, who was so good to me, I have offended him.

(Examination of conscience. See page XX.)

O God, against whom I have sinned, I wish from my heart that I had never offended thee. Grant me the grace never to offend thee again. Have mercy on me according to thy great mercy, and blot out my iniquities. I renounce all sin, and firmly purpose to better my life.

During this night protect me, O Lord, from all harm and evil. Pour down thy blessing upon our Holy Father, the Pope; upon our Bishop, our Pastor, and our congregation; on my parents, relations, benefactors, friends, and enemies. Help the poor, the sick, and those who will die this night; convert the heretics and enlighten the infidels. Have mercy also on the poor souls in purgatory and give them eternal rest.

( + ) Into thy hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit. Save me waking, and keep me sleeping, that I may watch in Christ, and rest in peace.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, may I breathe forth my soul in peace with you.

January 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

