New Sherwood

Morning and evening prayer – Form Two (evening)

EVENING PRAYER – FORM TWO

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

Blessed be the Holy Trinity, one God, now and forever. Amen.

Glory to the Father, who created me; glory to the Son, Who redeemed me; glory to the Holy Ghost, Who sanctifieth me.

Almighty and eternal God, I adore Thee, and I thank Thee for all the benefits I have received this day through Thy infinite goodness and mercy. Give me light to know my faults and grant me grace to be truly sorry for my sins.

(Examination of conscience. See page XX.)

O my God, I am truly sorry for having sinned because Thou art infinitely good and because sin displeases Thee. I am firmly resolved, with the help of Thy grace, never more to offend Thee, and I will carefully avoid the occasions of sin.

I love Thee, my Lord and my God, with my whole heart and above all things, and for the love of Thee I love my neighbor as myself. Grant that I may love Thee more and more and give me the grace of perseverance, that I may live a holy life, die a happy death, and glorify Thee eternally in heaven.

OUR FATHER

HAIL MARY

I BELIEVE

GLORY BE

O sweetest heart of Jesus! I implore,
That I may ever love Thee more and more.

Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto Thine.

Sweet Heart of Jesus, be my love!

Sweet Heart of Mary, be my salvation!

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored they help, or sought thy intercession was left unaided. Inspired with this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my Mother. To thee I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me. Amen.

O Mary! my Queen! my Mother! Remember I am thine own. Keep me, guard me, as thy property and possession.

Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.

Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.

Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, may I breathe forth my soul in peace with you. Amen.

May the Blessed Virgin Mary, St. Joseph, and all the saints, pray for us to our Lord, that we may be preserved this night from sin and evil.

O my good angel, whom God has appointed to be my guardian, watch over me during this night.

DE PROFUNDIS
Out of the depths I have cried unto Thee, O Lord:
Lord, hear my voice. Let Thy ears be attentive to the voice of my supplication.
If Thou, O Lord, wilt mark iniquities: Lord, who shall stand it?
For with Thee there is merciful forgiveness:
And by reason of Thy law, I have waited for Thee, O Lord.
My soul hath relied on His Word:
My soul hath hoped in the Lord.
From the morning watch even until night, let Israel hope in the Lord.
Because with the Lord there is mercy: and with Him plentiful redemption.
And He shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities.

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Ghost.
As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Have mercy, O Lord, have mercy on the poor souls in purgatory.

V. Eternal rest grant unto them, O Lord.
R. And let perpetual light shine upon them.
V. O Lord, hear my prayer.
R. And let my cry come unto Thee.

O God, the Creator and Redeemer of all the faithful, grant to the souls of Thy servants departed the remission of all their sins, that through pious supplications they may obtain that pardon which they have always desired, Who livest and reignest now and forever. Amen.

May the souls of the faithful departed ( + ), through the mercy of God, rest in peace.

Visit, we beseech Thee, O Lord, this habitation, and drive far from it all the snares of the enemy: let Thy holy angels dwell herein, to keep us in peace, and may Thy blessing be always upon us. Through Our Lord Jesus Christ, Thy Son, Who liveth and reigneth with Thee, in the unity of the Holy Ghost, one God, world without end. Amen.

May the Lord bless me ( + ), preserve me from all evil, and bring me to life everlasting. Amen.

January 6, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

