New Sherwood

Morning and evening prayer – Form One (evening)

EVENING PRAYER – FORM ONE

( + ) In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

V. O worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness;
R. Let the whole earth stand in awe of Him.

V. Let my prayer be set forth in Thy sight as the incense;
R. And let the lifting up of my hands be an evening sacrifice.

OUR FATHER

HAIL MARY

I BELIEVE

(Examination of conscience: See page XX.)

I confess to Almighty God, to blessed Mary ever Virgin, to blessed Michael the Archangel, to blessed John the Baptist, to the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, and to all the saints, that I have sinned exceedingly in thought, word, and deed, through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault. Therefore, I beseech blessed Mary ever Virgin, blessed Michael the Archangel, blessed John the Baptist, the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, and all the saints, to pray to the Lord our God for me.

O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins because I dread the loss of Heaven and the pains of Hell; but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, Who art all-good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of Thy grace, to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen.

May Almighty God have mercy on us, forgive us our sins, and bring us to life everlasting. Amen.

May the almighty and merciful Lord grant us pardon ( + ), absolution, and remission of all our sins.

MAGNIFICAT
( + ) My soul doth magnify the Lord, * and my spirit hath rejoiced in
God my Savior.
For He hath regarded * the lowliness of His handmaiden.
For behold, from henceforth * all generations shall call me blessed.
For He that is mighty hath magnified me; * and holy is His Name.
And His mercy is on them that fear him * throughout all
generations.
He hath showed strength with his arm; * He hath scattered the
proud in the imagination of their hearts.
He hath put down the mighty from their seat, * and hath exalted
the humble and meek.
He hath filled the hungry with good things; * and the rich He hath
sent empty away.
He remembering His mercy hath holpen His servant Israel; * as He
promised to our forefathers, Abraham and his seed, for ever.

NUNC DIMITTIS
( + ) Lord, now lettest thou Thy servant depart in peace, * according
to Thy word.
For mine eyes have seen * Thy salvation,
Which Thou hast prepared * before the face of all people;
To be a light to lighten the Gentiles, * and to be the glory of
Thy people Israel.

Holy Angels, our loving guardians, defend us in the hour of battle, that we may not be lost at the dreadful judgment.

All ye saints of God, vouchsafe to intercede for us and for all men, that we may be saved.

O almighty and ever-living God, who, by the co-operation of the Holy Ghost, didst prepare the body and soul of Mary, glorious Virgin and Mother, to become the worthy habitation of thy Son; grant that we may be delivered from present evils, and from everlasting death, by her gracious intercession, in whose commemoration we rejoice. Through the same Christ our Lord. Amen.

Save us, O Lord, while awake, and watch us as we sleep; that we may watch with Christ, and rest in peace.

Vouchsafe, O Lord, this night to keep us without sin. Let thy mercy, O Lord, be ever upon us, as we have hoped in thee.

Be present, O merciful God, and protect us through the silent hours of this night, so that we who are wearied by the changes and chances of this fleeting world, may repose upon Thy eternal changelessness; through Jesus Christ our Lord.

May the almighty and merciful Lord ( + ), Father, Son, and Holy Ghost, bless and preserve us, and bring us to life everlasting. Amen.

January 5, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

