New Sherwood

Monday morning

Just a few Monday notes:

Mr. Adrian Martin, venerable host of The Old Tode web log, has graduated from the University of Hawaii. Now the fun begins!

******

Daniel, who hosts Ride of the Rohirrim, met his finance through CatholicMatch and has some interesting thoughts about meeting online. Meanwhile, Chris of Domine Non Sum Dignus complements the topic with some ruminations on courtship.

******

The Yeoman Farmer reminds us that “pump first, pay later” gas stations still exist in the heartland. We don’t have any of these in Orland, but one of the first things I noticed after moving here is that our drive-through businesses hand you the order before taking your money. Aren’t they afraid of me driving off? I guess not. And I still find it strange that some of our downtown establishments leave their merchandise and sandwich boards outside – totally unsecured! – when closed overnight.

******

Here’s Cardinal Siri’s famous Notification Concerning Men’s Dress Worn by Women. This one is always a good reminder of Catholic thinking on the topic. The foregoing link, by the way, was brought to my attention by the wonderful Elena-Maria Vidal of Tea at Trianon – a web log of the highest quality and content. I’m currently reading her gripping historical novel Trianon, a portrait of the French royal family at the time of the revolution. As I progress through the evocative and exceptionally well-written pages of this work, I am beginning to think that it belongs on every Catholic bookshelf.

******

Along the same lines, Requiem Press appears to be offering a bulk discount on a fine little booklet titled The Chapel Veil: Symbol of the Spouse of Christ. I recommend purchasing a batch of these for your parish bookstore.

******

Yesterday, the feast commemorating Our Lady of Fatima, was also the 7th anniversary of our being received into the Catholic Church and the first annual May Crowning for the Latin Mass community in Chico. LeXuan made the beautiful crown of flowers that was used in the ceremony. And tomorrow is the patronal feast day of our homestead, St. Isidore Ranch. Amidst the celebrating there is still too much work to do. Nevertheless I should get around to answering e-mails and comments shortly. Thanks for your patience!

May 15, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. Thank you kindly, sir. Five years of state education wasn’t so bad. Of course, I was an economics major; political science is a whole ‘nother story!

    Like

    Comment by Adrian Martin | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. But even with such an education, I see you still know what an apostrophe is for.

    You must have graduated before the asteroid.

    Like

    Comment by hilary | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  3. Adrian: Another econ major! I knew we had something else in common. :-)

    Hilary: I suspect our grad picked up his knowledge of the apostrophe reading Chesterton, Belloc, or Newman. Or possibly Schmemman, Pomazansky, or Fr. Seraphim Rose.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  4. My *very incomplete* education included Kuehnelt-Leddihn, then Mises/Rothbard (I had an extended libertarian moment), Chesterbelloc, and later on Fr. Seraphim. Fr. Michael Pomazansky I’m working on right now. I’m virtually the only one at the university who knows of these authors. O Tempora, O Mores!

    Like

    Comment by Adrian Martin | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  5. Kuehnelt-Leddihn, of course: “Tener vn hixo — Plantar vn árbol — Eſcribir vn libro”! I’m not sure what language that’s in, but it looks like the “perfectly reactionary pattern” from EVKL’s “Liberty or Equality”.

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  6. Haha, it’s merely Spanish with archaic letters/old spelling–v instead of u, x instead of j, and the “long s” instead of the modern version. I got the idea from Mr Mitsui over at Lion-and-Cardinal. That’s practically the only Spanish I know; I am, however, semi-fluent in Japanese.

    Like

    Comment by Adrian Martin | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  7. Jeff, thank you for the link. I’m glad my post generated some interest.

    And, I wanted to say that I’ll pray for the Latin Mass community in Chico…I’m glad to know that it is doing well.

    Like

    Comment by Daniel A. | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  8. Oh yeah, one last comment. It’s really hard to find an Orthodox girl, seriously. We don’t even have an OrthodoxMatch, so we’re up the creek on this one.

    Like

    Comment by Adrian Martin | May 15, 2007 | Reply

  9. I’d be happy to introduce you to some nice traditional Catholic girls … when you convert!

    Like

    Comment by Jeff Culbreath | May 16, 2007 | Reply

  10. […] Actually, it seems I’m hearing about him everywhere all of a sudden. Jeff mentioned that his ranch is named after him on Monday, Lorraine did her post yesterday, and last night, Rod Dreher posted about a Catholic […]

    Like

    Pingback by Blog Lull and Wednesday Blahs « Uncovering Orthodoxy | May 16, 2007 | Reply

  11. Thanks for the link and the kind words, Jeff! Blessings to you!

    Like

    Comment by elena maria vidal | May 19, 2007 | Reply

  12. Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    Bye

    Like

    Comment by tovorinok | July 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

