New Sherwood

Seasons

TAC3

Tomorrow morning, we leave to deliver our two oldest children to the front porch of Thomas Aquinas College. They are understandably excited, somewhat anxious, and full of high expectations. They are looking to the future, and so am I – but I expect to be looking behind soon enough. Our home and family life will be very different without them, and there will be a flood of memories. These two “children” are many remarkable things, but I am most astonished at their simple goodness. God loves them, He is after their hearts, and He has blessed the rest of us through their presence in our home. What more can a father ask?

My son has posted his thoughts on the matter here.

My daughter reflects on her life transition here.

I found a little bit of advice for them here:

August 21, 2013 - Posted by | Education, Family

7 Comments »

  1. prayers for this new season that you are entering.

    Comment by Lena ~ JOYfilledfamily | August 21, 2013 | Reply

  2. What good news! I’m excited for them. You ought be justly proud as that’s a very impressive school.

    Comment by Thomas | August 22, 2013 | Reply

  3. God protect them on their journey. You’re going to miss them a lot. Just speaking from experience.

    Comment by william luse | August 24, 2013 | Reply

  4. Lena – Thank you, and prayers for your “new season” as well. I’m anxious to hear about your daughter’s experience.

    Thomas – Yes, I am justly proud of them, because they worked at their studies diligently and seriously. And I’m also proud of my dear wife, who once thought she could never succeed at home schooling, but whose intelligence and tireless labor “behind the scenes” brought them this far. But mostly I am grateful to God for their faith and character. The house today is missing more than their bodies, their voices, their laughter or their music … we are missing two powerful magnets of grace for our family.

    Comment by Blogmaster | August 25, 2013 | Reply

  5. Bill, I will definitely trust you on this one. Any advice you might have for us is most welcome!

    Comment by Blogmaster | August 25, 2013 | Reply

  6. Having dropped my two oldest sons at Wyoming Catholic and College of St. Mary Magdalen this past few weeks, we are also feeling the changing seasons! I have to keep reminding myself that our children are God’s and that we were only stewards. Then I think about all the things I failed in their formation up to this point and hope the colleges we sent them to can make up for my deficit.

    God bless the Culbreaths!

    Jim

    Comment by Jim Curley | August 28, 2013 | Reply

  7. “I have to keep reminding myself that our children are God’s and that we were only stewards. Then I think about all the things I failed in their formation up to this point and hope the colleges we sent them to can make up for my deficit.”

    Jim, I have absolutely nothing to add to these words. My own thoughts and sentiments precisely.

    Comment by Blogmaster | August 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

