New Sherwood

Savage Model 24

 It’s true: if I weren’t the father of sons I would have little interest in firearms. Give me a garden, a dozen fruit trees, and a good library and I’m a happy man. But some boys ought to have guns in their lives, and my 13 year old is one such boy. We gave him an inherited Savage Model 24 for his birthday. It had been sitting in my mother’s garage for years, and probably belonged to my step-father.  This is a very unique firearm: a dual-barrel .22 rifle on the top and .410 shotgun on the bottom. These have been out of production since 1988.

We broke it in this afternoon, out in the pasture on a stunningly beautiful day. The gunsmith had it sighted perfectly. I had never shot a .410 before, but somehow I had this idea that it was probably a weak, toy-like teenager’s shotgun. Well, it turns out that the .410 has a powerful kick to it and can shoot clay pigeons for as far as I can throw them. And Christopher’s a good shot, too, once he gets warmed up!

The advantage of the Model 24 is that you can quickly shift from rifle to shotgun mode, or the reverse, without having to switch firearms or even load the ammunition. Perhaps you’re hunting for pheasants, but then you spot that coyote that’s been after your chickens: all you have to do is flip a switch and fire the .22 bullet. The disadvantage is that the Model 24 is loaded one bullet or cartridge at a time – no magazines accepted – so I suppose one needs to be adept at re-loading quickly when necessary.

December 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. I shot a .410 once when I was a teenager in Illinois. I aimed it a low hanging leaf on a tree that stood on the edge of a cornfield. I pulled the trigger and the leaf lifted violently as if buffeted by a strong wind out of nowhere, and the rifle’s kick lifted the barrel at least a foot above parallel. I have no idea if I actually hit the leaf.

    Why do you have to shoot the coyote? Couldn’t you talk to him first?

    Comment by William Luse | December 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. Yes, the power really surprised me. I’m used to shooting a 20 gauge and expected something much wimpier. Perhaps that leaf was saved by the advancing wind. Anyway, they tell me it’s no fair shooting a shotgun at stationary targets!

    I’ll bet coyotes are tough negotiators.

    Comment by Blogmaster | December 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. I have shot various model 410′s, most with little kickback (more than a .22, but much less than a 20 gauge or a 16 gauge.) Because of shoulder problems, I can’t shoot a 16 or 20 gauge more than once. I can shoot most .410′s a dozen times before my shoulder says “No more”.

    Comment by Jim Curley | December 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. Jim, thanks for the comment. Hope all is well with the Curleys! A bad shoulder makes shotgunning a rough sport. I wonder if there are significant differences in the power of different .410 models?

    Comment by Blogmaster | December 21, 2011 | Reply

    • I think barrel length has alot to do with it. Last Christmas we got the boys a Rossi combo .410/.22. It had a stronger kick than any other .410 I had shot. Shorter barrel by at least 6 inches may be more.

      Comment by Jim Curley | December 21, 2011 | Reply

      • Actually, I should have said the weight of the gun, not the barrell length. – Jim

        Comment by Jim Curley | January 1, 2012


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

