New Sherwood

Personal notes on bodily health

I’m now 43 years old, or as my brother likes to say, in the “extreme 30s”. Over the last five or six years I’ve experienced a couple of serious health scares along with a growing list of minor irritations that, taken together, have aroused my attention. Though I’ve never paid much attention to my own health, not long ago I began doing some research and concluded that I needed to make some serious dietary changes.

The first blow was almost eliminating coffee. I had been a coffee lover from the age of 12, but coffee was causing stomach pains and acid reflux problems to the point of near-debilitation. I couldn’t figure out why I just couldn’t keep my lunches down. I noticed, too, that certain other foods had the same effect – chocolate, beer, white wine, margaritas, even our own home-grown nectarines! So I no longer enjoy my coffee every morning, beer on hot summer afternoons, or nectarines (beyond just one a day) at harvest time. I sometimes use a coffee substitute, but I am settling on tea, and sometimes just half-a-cup of coffee, to start my day. I can still drink red wine, but even some of those are troublesome. I have discovered a local organic brand that is very pleasing (LaRocca – give it a try) and will probably stick with that.

Although my reflux problems were solved by eliminating certain foods, my stomach pains were not conquered until I began to limit my consumption of bread. Bread? Yes, bread. I have always been prone to overeating when it comes to bread. It was a common-sense self-diagnosis, but it took me a while. By the time I figured this out, it was beginning to feel like I was on the fast track to being nourished by feeding tube! Spiritually, I am no stranger to gluttony, so all of this is undoubtedly a mercy.

Cutting out the coffee almost eliminated my frequent heart palpitations, but not entirely. It wasn’t until I drastically reduced my sugar intake that the palpitations went away. This presentation helped convince me to quit soda pop for good, and to eliminate most high-sugar foods at least Monday through Friday. No more sodas and juices with my lunch, no more sweet snacks and desserts, and fewer processed foods loaded with high fructose corn syrup. The happy result? In addition to eliminating those irritating palpitations, the change has also increased my energy levels (and improved my mood) throughout the day.

As a result of the swine flu scare, I began to research the benefits of Vitamin D3 supplements in resisting the flu. Most everyone in the industrialized world is Vitamin D deficient due to a lack of prime-time sun exposure, and this deficiency peaks during flu season when most people try to stay indoors. Vitamin D deficiency is undoubtedly related to the winter blues and depression, or “seasonal affective disorder”. As it turns out, Vitamin D is critical not only for the health of your immune system, but also for resistance to cancer and many other diseases. Please take a few minutes to watch this video:

So, here’s what I’ve concluded thus far, in a nutshell. Many people do not have the food reactions that I have, so I don’t think eliminating coffee and such is a universal prescription.  However, I would recommend the following for most adults:

1. Keep your sugar intake at a minimum. Be aware that sugar in the form of fructose – usually high fructose corn syrup – permeates many processed foods not regarded as “sweet”. So check all labels. And quit sodas and juices with HFCS altogether.

2. Take a Vitamin D3 supplement appropriate for your age and weight. Anyone over 100 lbs should take at least 1000 IUs daily. Most adults should take between 1000 IUs and 5000 IUs daily. I take 2000 IUs daily, as do my two oldest children. The 10 y/o takes 1000 IUs, and the 6 y/o takes only a chewable multivitamin with 400 IUs.

3. Take an Omega 3 supplement. Most people are deficient in Omega 3 as well. The benefits are well documented, and it helps your body process the Vitamin D.

4. If you aren’t eating a carefully balanced diet, consider taking a good multivitamin daily.

Both the Omega 3 and multivitamin supplements will also contain Vitamin D, probably around 800-1000 IUs combined.  If you’re taking less than 10,000 IUs in your daily Vitamin D supplement, just consider it a bonus. Your body should naturally produce between 10,000 and 20,000 IUs of Vitamin D3 with just 30 minutes of full sunlight exposure, during the non-winter months. If you aren’t doing at least that much – and most people aren’t – your supplement isn’t likely to match what would otherwise be supplied by nature.

September 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. Acid reflux is horrible, and I know from experience.

    Like

    Comment by Mark Scott Abeln | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yes, GERD can be extremely unpleasant! Hope your condition has improved.

    By the way, I had the wrong video embedded originally. I’ve since made the correction. There is much more Vitamin D information in the updated clip.

    Like

    Comment by Blogmaster | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Much better now, thanks. Not eating or drinking before going to bed helps, as does taking calcium tablets before going to bed.

    Like

    Comment by Mark Scott Abeln | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Get hold of these things now and you’ll feel better for many years to come. Diagnosed with diabetes almost 2 years ago was the best thing to happen to me (health-wise) in many years. I’ve lost a lot of weight and feel 10-15 years younger.

    Sure there are things you have to give up, but if you get things under control, you may be able to go back to some of these things with much moderation.

    Good luck.

    Like

    Comment by Jim Curley | September 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. I can relate. I’ve noticed real changes in my constitution since reaching my mid-40s. The “sins” of diet are punished more severely so I’ve been trying to lessen my sugar and caffeine intakes (have decaf coffee with just a bit of ‘real’ coffee). Also been avoiding drinks with aspartame, i.e. artificial sweetner.

    Like

    Comment by TSO | September 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. I hate to sound like the only person talking about standard medicine, but I hear from those personally experienced that the standard medication (can’t recall the name) that calms down the stomach nerve and decreases the amount of acid really does work, at least for some people.

    Multivitamins are out for me, because I can’t handle the various acidic vitamins in them, not to mention the iron. Yuck. Couldn’t even manage to take one while pregnant.

    The one thing I wd. say about juice: Vitamin C. I do make all my kids drink juice that contains Vitamin C a couple of times a day–usually orange juice or C-enriched apple juice. I know it also has natural sugar, but it has nutritional value and is a painless way to get it.

    Like

    Comment by Lydia | October 9, 2009 | Reply

  7. Lydia, those medications that reduce stomach acid do work, but here’s the problem: for many GERD sufferers it isn’t that the stomach is producing too much acid, but that one’s esophageal “door” relaxes due to a reaction to certain foods, permitting the contents of the stomach to go places where it doesn’t belong. So reducing stomach acid might bring some temporary relief, but it doesn’t solve the real problem. What is worse, it is probably depriving one’s stomach of a normal level of acid that is required for proper digestion. That acid tends to “rebound” and overcompensate as a result of being suppressed by medication, so you end up compounding the problem!

    Like

    Comment by Blogmaster | October 9, 2009 | Reply

  8. Diet makes such a difference! My 10 yr old son was hospitalized with terrible reflux last winter. We have since cleaned up his diet immensely (he has a dairy allergy that we really “thought” he’d outgrown)….and he’s since been able to be weaned off his Prevacid. He is doing great now – as if it never happened/existed. Thanks for your insightful advice and sharing your experience. Blessings for continued good health! From Ohio,
    Denise

    Like

    Comment by Denise Laubacher | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  9. Having hit 40 a couple years ago I realized that some things had to change also. It is frustrating that as your mind matures to the level of some understanding and your spirit yearns to enjoy your body thinks it needs to slow down.

    Like

    Comment by Barry | July 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

