New Sherwood

How to implement Summorum Pontificum

Bishop Dewayne of Venice, Florida, requires daily mass in the Extraordinary Form at Ave Maria University:

“Due to the demand for the celebration of the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite, both from Catholics residents in Ave Maria Town as well as from students, faculty, and staff at Ave Maria University, and in accordance with ‘Summorum Pontificum’, it is fitting that a Sunday Mass be celebrated on campus in the Extraordinary Form. In keeping with the same manifest desire, it would seem opportune that the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite be celebrated on a daily basis at the University, and at a convenient time. Further, it is noted that, in accordance with ‘Summorum Pontificum’, unscheduled Masses can also be celebrated by priests on campus, in the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.”

Wow!

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I guess this bishop has liturgical Jekyll and Hyde syndrome.

    “Last Sunday, Diocese of Venice Bishop Frank Dewane celebrated Mass at a Sarasota church accompanied by priests wearing colorful Ferris wheels, clowns, giraffes, unicycles, lions and merry-go-rounds on their vestments.

    This was the annual circus Mass, Dewane said, honoring the nearly 100-year history of the Ringling family on Florida’s west coast and the importance of itinerant people like circus performers to the Catholic universal church.”

    Like

    Comment by curtjester | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. I receintly requested in writting a mass of Extraordinary Time be held at Saint Andrews Church in Cape Coral. Father Mark the paster refused. He plainly demonstrated his distain for the right. I then collected over 120 signatures from parishoners and resubmitted the list. Father Mark once again denied my request and asked that I not ask again. I then submitted my request to the Ecclasia Dei society of Florida located in Sarasota. Father Fausto seemed very interested and told me he would discuss the matter with Bishop Dewane. The following week he avoided me like the plag and told me the Bishop was not expanding use of the Mass at this time. I tried several times to get an appointment with the bishop and never received a return call. So I wounder why some people believe he is a supporter of the Tridentine Mass.

    Like

    Comment by John Paccione | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I kind of chuckled when I read this. I have heard it said that Bishop Dewane and the Ave Maria folks perhaps don’t see eye to eye on some things. I have heard that the Ave Maria folks are perhaps a little too conservative for Bishop Dewane’s tastes. I have also heard that while the Ave Maria folks are orthodox, they are not necessarily wild about the the extraordinary form of the mass. So, my devious mind thinks that perhaps the Bishop thinks he is sticking it to Ave Maria by granting them something they don’t necessarily want.

    Like

    Comment by Brian Crane | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. I thought the Bishop was refusing to recognize the Chapel at Ave Maria?

    Like

    Comment by Mary | February 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

